Welcome to the 38th season of your Hilton Head Symphony Orchestra, the Orchestra of the Lowcountry.

Our 38th season presents a collection of masterworks that appeal to music lovers of all kinds: Beethoven to Bartók. For our many fans, we continue to explore music that is ardent, passionate, and impeccably performed—from Rachmaninoff’s audacious Piano Concerto No. 3 and Prokofiev’s searing Romeo and Juliet, to the utterly charming Mozart Symphony no.39 and the brooding Franck Symphony in D minor. Great Lowcountry traditions include the region’s premiere Holiday celebration, the triumphant return of the International Piano Competition winner Chaeyoung Park, and “Superheroes!” packed with the original Hollywood scores from the latest blockbusters. The pinnacle of the season will be Mendelssohn’s masterpiece “Elijah,” with a chorus of over 100 voices.

Always Informative, Never Formal – Invariably Engaging and Entertaining – The HHSO Inspires.

2019-2020 HHSO SEASON – SUBSCRIPTION BROCHURE

OPENING NIGHT

Sunday, October 20, 2019 5pm
Monday, October 21, 2019 8pm

John Morris Russell, Conductor
Bella Hristova, Violin

STRAUSS Don Juan
BEETHOVEN Romance, Nos. 1 & 2
PROKOFIEV Selections from Romeo and Juliet

RACHMANINOFF & FRANCK

Sunday, November 17, 2019 5pm
Monday, November 18, 2019 8pm

John Morris Russell, Conductor
Eric Zuber, Piano

RACHMANINOFF Piano Concerto No. 3
FRANCK Symphony in D minor

A VISIT FROM ST. NICHOLAS

Sunday, December 1, 2019 5pm
Monday, December 2, 2019 8pm

John Morris Russell, Conductor
Blake White, Narrator
Hilton Head Symphony Orchestra Chorus
Hilton Head Dance Theater

A holiday spectacular with John Morris Russell featuring festive holiday favorites with the HHSO Chorus, Hilton Head Dance Theater, and a brilliant new setting of Clement Moore’s classic poem, A Visit From St. Nicholas.

DVOŘÁK & BARTÓK and BEETHOVEN’S 4TH

Sunday, January 12, 2020 5pm
Monday, January 13, 2020 8pm

John Morris Russell, Conductor
Chaeyoung Park, Piano

DVOŘÁK Slavonic Dance No. 8
BEETHOVEN Piano Concerto No. 4
BARTÓK Concerto for Orchestra

MOZART & SAINT SAËNS and MONTGOMERY’S STARBURST

Sunday, January 26, 2020 5pm
Monday, January 27, 2020 8pm

Kellen Gray, Conductor
Miriam K. Smith, Cello

MOZART Symphony No. 39
MONTGOMERY Starburst
SAINT SAËNS Cello Concerto No. 1

SUPERHEROES!

Sunday, February 9, 2020 5pm
Monday, February 10, 2020 8pm

John Morris Russell, Conductor
Francis Tsai, Violin

Brilliant cinematic scores by Alan Silvestri, Danny Elfman, John Debney, Patrick Doyle, and John Williams from some of the biggest films of all time, including Batman, Captain America, X-Men, Ironman,
Thor, and Superman.

GRIEG & VAUGHAN WILLIAMS and ELGAR’S ENIGMA VARIATIONS

Sunday, February 23, 2020 5pm
Monday, February 24, 2020 8pm

John Morris Russell, Conductor
Reid Messich, Oboe

GRIEG Holberg Suite
VAUGHAN WILLIAMS Oboe Concerto
ELGAR Enigma Variations

WAGNER & RIMSKY-KORSAKOV and BRAHMS DOUBLE CONCERTO

Sunday, March 22, 2020 5pm
Monday, March 23, 2020 8pm

John Morris Russell, Conductor
Randall Goosby, Violin
Sterling Elliott, Cello

BRAHMS Double Concerto
WAGNER Flying Dutchman Overture
RIMSKY-KORSAKOV Russian Easter Overture

GRAND FINALE: ELIJAH

Sunday, April 26, 2020 5pm
Monday, April 27, 202 0 8pm

John Morris Russell, Conductor
Hilton Head Symphony Orchestra Chorus
Georgia Southern University-Southern Chorale

MENDELSSOHN Elijah

SYMPHONY UNDER THE STARS – BLUFFTON

R. E. S. P. E. C. T.
A Tribute to Aretha Franklin

Tuesday, October 1, 2019 6pm
Wednesday, October 2, 2019 6pm

John Morris Russell, Conductor
Coco Smith, Tamika Lawrence, & Blaine Krauss,Vocals

The first woman inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, Aretha Franklin, was an artist of passion, sophistication, and command. Her timeless recordings are anthems that define soul!

R.E.S.E.R.V.E your seats today!

SYMPHONY UNDER THE STARS – HILTON HEAD

Dream a Little Dream

Tuesday, April 7 – 2020 6pm
Wednesday, April 8 – 2020 6pm

John Morris Russell, Conductor
Kimberly Hawkey, Soprano

A sultry evening of scintillating classics, chanteuse and song revivalist Kimberly Hawkey makes her eagerly awaited return to mix an intoxicating cocktail of Jazz, Americana, and Broadway.