

## JOHN MORRIS RUSSELL, MUSIC DIRECTOR AND CONDUCTOR

Robert and Margaret Gallagher Memorial Chair

2020-2021 | 39<sup>th</sup> SEASON

Monday, February 8, 2021 | 7:30 pm

## JOHN MORRIS RUSSELL, CONDUCTOR SARA ZOE BUDNIK, VOCALS GREG WHITTAKER, SAXOPHONE

POPS: "The Birth of Swing"

SCOTT JOPLIN Maple Leaf Rag

JAMES REESE EUROPE Castle Walk

GEORGE GERSHWIN Lullabye

GEORGE GERSHWIN/JIMMY CARROLL, ARR. Summertime

Greg Whittaker, saxophone

GEORGE GERSHWIN/NELSON RIDDLE, ARR. Embraceable You

Sara Zoe Budnik, vocals

BERNICE PETKERE/FRANK DEVOL, ARR. Close Your Eyes

Sara Zoe Budnik, vocals

ANTONIA CARLOS JOBIM/CLAUS OGERMAN, ARR. Wave

COLE PORTER/JIMMY CARROLL, ARR. What Is This Thing Called Love

Greg Whittaker, saxophone

DUKE ELLINGTON/MORTON GOULD, ARR. Sophisticated Lady

GEORGE GERSHWIN/NELSON RIDDLE, ARR. I've Got a Crush on You

Sara Zoe Budnik, vocals

HARRY WARREN/RILEY HAMPTON, ARR. At Last

Sara Zoe Budnik, vocals

JOHN KLENNER/JIMMY CARROLL, ARR. Just Friends

**Greg Whittaker**, saxophone

JAMES REESE EUROPE Castle House Rag

## **SEASON SPONSOR**



## 2020-2021 HHSO ORCHESTRA PERSONNEL PARTICIPATING IN THE FEBRUARY 8, 2021, CONCERT

VIOLIN I

Micah Gangwer, Concertmaster Aldine W. Schroeder Memorial Chair Essena Setaro

Jean S. Wolff Chair in memory of Alfred W. Wolff

Jonathan Wright

VIOLIN II

Angela Loizides, Acting Principal

Mario Incorvaia Cathy Klimoff

**VIOLA** 

LiZhou Liu, Principal
Mary & Michael Briggs Chair

Taliaferro Nash

**CELLO** 

Cynthia Sulko, Acting Principal Ellen & Charles Taylor Chair Mary Ann Watson

**BASS** 

Tom Bresnick, Acting Principal

Ann & Michael Waters Chair (in memory of Ruth A.

and Robert C. Waters)

**FLUTE** 

Lorraine Jones, Principal

Erna B. Graver Memorial Chair

**CLARINET** 

Charles Messersmith, Principal

Marge and Paul Coble Chair in memory of Don E. Coble

**TRUMPET** 

Paul Lott, Principal

Nancy and John Diamond Chair

**TROMBONE** 

Carl Polk, Principal
Lin and Robert Rada Chair

**TUBA** 

Christopher Bluemel, Principal

Dr. William P. and Judy F. Thorpe Chair (in honor of

Richard Heyman, M. D.)

**PERCUSSION** 

Stephen Primatic, Principal Sandy and Fred Caswell Chair

**KEYBOARD** 

Michael Braz, Principal

Mary Ellen & Jack McConnell Chair

**HARP** 

Lucy Scandrett, Acting Principal

League of Hilton Head Symphony Orchestra Chair

GUITAR/BANJO

David Kimbell

ORCHESTRA LIBRARIAN

**Angela Loizides** 

PRODUCTION MANAGER

Mathew Fallin

SOUNDWAVES TECHNICAL DIRECTOR

**Carlton Pitts** 

SOUND ENGINEER

Bill Gwynne

STREAMING DIRECTOR

Joseph Chappell